National American Indian Court Judges Association 2014 Award Solicitation

The National American Indian Court Judges Association (NAICJA) Board of Directors is soliciting nominations for four (4) NAICJA awards:  the Lifetime Achievement Award, the Judicial Excellence Award, the Court Support Excellence Award and the Outstanding Service Award. The award criteria are detailed in the 2014 NAICJA Awards Solicitation document.  Please use the 2014 NAICJA Award Nomination form to make nominate an individual.  

Nominations close: August 29, 2014. 

The awards will be announced and presented at the 45th National Tribal Judicial and Court Clerks Conference on October 7-10, 2014 at the Cherokee Nation’s Hard Rock Tulsa in Catoosa, OK.  For more conference information see:

Last year’s inaugural award winners were: Chief Justice Michael Petoskey (Pokagon Band of Potawatomi Tribal Court) (Lifetime Achievement Award), Chief Judge Richard Blake (Hoopa Tribal Court) (Judicial Excellence Award) and Dean Stacy Leeds (University of Arkansas School of Law, former Chief Justice, Cherokee Nation Supreme Court) (NAICJA Service Award.) The Court  Support Excellence Award is new for 2014.

Established in 1969, NAICJA is non-profit membership organization of present and former tribal court judges, court personnel and other tribal justice system supporters from approximately 300 tribal courts throughout the United States.  NAICJA provides support, continuing education and technical assistance to tribal justice systems and seeks to further public knowledge and understanding of tribal courts.