NCAI Announces Newly Elected Leadership

The National Congress of American Indians announced its newly elected Executive Committee led by Brian Cladoosby, Swinomish Indian Tribal Community Chairman, as new NCAI President.

“Chairman Cladoosby has just what it takes to run NCAI. I just watched Brian in action last week as he ran the annual summit between Washington’s 29 tribes, Governor Jay Inslee, and his agency heads,” said Chris Stearns, a Navajo lawyer with Hobbs Straus and adviser to former NCAI President Tex Hall. “He did a masterful job and it shows that he not only has the respect of some of the country’s most important leaders but that he knows how to get work done and do so in a way that makes everyone walk away feeling empowered.”

“I am deeply humbled to have been selected to serve tribes around the nation as President of NCAI,” Cladoosby said. “American Indian and Alaska Native communities are each unique with their own histories, cultures, economies and governmental structures. We also share the common goal of providing the best governmental services to our members. I look forward to working with all the amazing tribal leaders across the country to improve the lives of Indian people.”

The new executive committee which began their two-year terms today is as follows:

  • President: Brian Cladoosby, Chairman, Swinomish Indian Tribal Community
  • First Vice President: Michael Finley, Chairman, Colville Tribes
  • Recording Secretary: Robert Shepard, Sisseton Wahpeton Oyate
  • Treasurer: Dennis Welsh, Jr., Tribal Council Member, Colorado River Indian Tribes